The Development Lifecycle

When you type “typical development lifecycle” into Google, you get some very different results. Depending on who you ask, there could either be 4, 5, 6 or 7 stages in the development lifecycle. Who do you believe? Which process do you trust? When I began my career as a developer, I didn’t know what the right answer was. I basically learned on the job.

Over the years, I worked for a lot of companies and built a lot of solutions of varying size and complexity. I also learned how to be a business analyst because I would gather the requirements directly from the business. I would roll out the changes and someone would inevitably realize they forgot something. This made me a better business analyst and I learned what questions to ask so that I gathered all the requirements the first time. I would add in the forgotten feature and realize it made the process better. After all those years of developing, making mistakes, learning, and improving, you know what I found? I have determined that, for me and my business, there are 6 stages to the development lifecycle:

  • Requirements Gathering
  • Planning
  • Development
  • Testing
  • Deployment
  • Analysis

These 6 stages work for me and my business; they just make sense. Over the next 6 blogs, I will dive deeper into each stage and explain how each one works at &rea and Associates.

I hope you find this upcoming series useful to you and your business. And if you are a developer and my development lifecycle does not work for you, then please share with me the process you follow. The solutions I build are living processes. It stands to reason that the process I follow to create those solutions should be a living process as well.

After all, continuous learning creates continuous improvement. Don’t you agree?